how to save water

About us


Kennedy announces appointment of Chair to Northern Ireland Water

17 December 2014 11:52

Regional Development Minister Danny Kennedy has announced the appointment of Dr Leonard J. P. O’Hagan CBE as new Chair to the Board of Northern Ireland Water.

The Board is responsible for the delivery of water and sewerage services in Northern Ireland.

Dr Leonard O’Hagan will take up this first appointment to the Board on the 1 April 2015 for four years until 31 March 2019.

Danny Kennedy said: “I congratulate Dr Leonard O’Hagan on his appointment to this important post.

“Dr O’Hagan has an excellent track record in business. He has extensive experience at board level, in both the private and public sectors, most recently as Chair of Belfast Harbour Commissioners.

“I am confident that his experience, combined with his strong leadership, communication and negotiation skills will be of great benefit to the company as it continues to provide cost efficient and high quality water and waste water services throughout Northern Ireland.”

Paying tribute to the current Chair, Sean Hogan, the Minister, said: “Sean Hogan will continue to make valued contributions to the success of Northern Ireland Water for the remainder of his four year tenure and I take this opportunity to place on record my thanks to him for his leadership and commitment.”

This appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.

Can't find what you're looking for? Visit the Need our Help or FAQ section